RSS Feed

What’s to be done?


In the morning I see them curled up all around my building. Some of them have bed rolls. Some are on abandoned couches. It’s like Hollywood Pointe Apartments is a ship and they are barnacle clinging to its hull. I’m talking about the homeless wretches of Hollywood. The only place in L.A. that has more bums per sidewalk square inch is Downtown. It’s only natural that an urban zone’s downtown area should harbor the dregs of society, but why Hollywood? I’ll let Steve Lopez cry his heart out for the homeless of downtown. He doesn’t live there, now does he?

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

3 responses »

  1. Maxwell can be very duplicitous. If you know what I mean.

    Reply
  2. I love that aspect of your neighborhood , the couches not the homeless. Why is that area the couch graveyard? Remind me to photograph the scene the next time I’m there. Not to alarm you, but I think Maxwell has been trying to contact me.

    Reply
  3. Be they like barnacles then they should nessessarily be washed like barnacles, in the sea for many generations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

