RSS Feed

Dance! Human! Dance! Maxwell and Mind Control


The alien origins of Ragdoll cats is a well-documented phenomenon. You might think I’m kidding here, but I assure you I’m not. These amazing felines are from outer space! On top of that, their DNA is derived from secret government experiments with chimpanzee, alien and cat chromosomes. The page that I’m directing you to is on the origins of Ragdolls. Its intent is to debunk these outrageous stories. Gentle reader, I ask you to read between the lines and like Agent Molder I implore you to believe that the truth is out there.

My own experience with Ragdoll cats is limited to Maxwell who I adopted in May 2006. While he has filled my life with immeasurable joy, there have been some disturbing developments. For instance, within days of moving in, he learned to roll on his back and expose his soft, white belly. When he does so, your mind will immediately pick up the message, “Play with me! It will be ever so much fun! Play! Play now!” I’ve yet to meet a soul who can resist this particular psychic blandishment.

Yet other examples are more pernicious. One evening before supper, I picked up a piece of string and started dragging it around the apartment. Maxwell didn’t respond. Next I tried one of my old neckties. When that didn’t work, I crumpled up my master’s degree and started tossing it around on the floor like a little soccer ball. That finally got his attention! Man, we had fun that night! It was worth it too!

But you may be asking, “Where’s the physical proof, Russell?” I invite you to inspect Maxwell. If the lighting is right, his eyes glow just like the kids in Village of the Damned. As you may recall, the children in that story practiced mind control. Coincidence? You decide.

Photograph of Maxwell by Earl Gadberry

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

5 responses »

  1. better maxwell than oscar, the cat who predicts deaths. by the way max, put in a good meow for me to the cat planet. amber sends her love but she is hoarding the milkbones.

    Reply
  2. Aluminum foil helmets! I love it! Where can I get one!

    Reply
  3. Maxwell is leading the revolution…sending messages to the government/aliens about the everyday lives of Americans! Maxwell I was always nice to you, please remeber that when you speak to your leader! Russ remind me to bring my aluminum foil helmet the next time I come by.

    Reply
  4. I don’t know, Art. I’d love to analyze this issue in greater depth on your show- Coast to Coast with, er- Well, Thanks, for posting Art!

    Reply
  5. Does this unusual animal have a larger agenda?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

