RSS Feed

I am Addicted to YouTube: in case you hadn’t noticed


But it is so great! Maybe it has something to do with the upcoming presidential election and all that hype about it being the first YouTube election. I joined YouTube over a year ago, and my account lay fallow all that time. But then my mother gave me a Handycam, and bless her heart, and a monster was born! The minute I wake up in the morning, I think, “I must blog.” I don’t mean to imply that our stinging, pollen gathering hymenoptera over there is a monster, just that I’m just as obssessive and compulsive when the mood arises. And it’s risen. But it can be glorious, check out this wonderful clip that I capture before I’d even gulped down my afternoon cup of coffee.

That morning melodrama illustrates why I am so pissed off about the construction lot next door, and the development feeding frenzy that’s devouring all of Hollywood. It’s like a bizarre ritual that the inhabitants seem to blinker themselves against the full horror of, while the fat cats sit around and get fatter and richer. That would be okay, except other folks end up thinner and much poorer. I have no problem with people getting so rich that they can wipe their rears with hundred dollar bills. No problem at all! But the armies of beggars and tramps are a national disgrace and a horror that people of this town confront daily.


Photograph, “Shadowman,” by Russell Smith using Sony Handycam, September 16, 2007.

Dear Readers, you know how I worry about your well-being, so proceed with caution. I now offer a clip that could take a few years off the lifespan of your ear drums, as well as offend your senses on both the spiritual and physical plane. It illustrates the complete lack of regard for the feelings of the residents of the community where they are temporarily working. Happy listening!


About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

2 responses »

  1. This could be the beginning of a new career for our friend!

    Reply
  2. Angry boy is so hot! I love is mismatched socks. He is my video god. I’ll pay your ticket!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

