RSS Feed

Messing around with my meds, mom.

Hey Ma!

I am having so much trouble putting together this post for you. Here’s a nice playlist of new videos. No big whup.

Poor Quacky had an abscess on his hindleg. You know, cats can be so inscrutible and he’s already very sweet my nature. We just had no idea something was wrong until Maxwell (evil little brother) started picking on him. Quacky would just lay there, instead of knocking him around. I had to go into the wound and make sure it was completely drained. Yuck! Everybody was so brave! Robin held Quacky in her arms in the bathroom while I did the dirty work (it’s under his tail, near his auns) and cleaned it out with hydrogen peroxide. Not a fun way to start the day. Robin and was very calm, very peaceful. Kudos to both!

Cedar Sinai is the place to go if you are sick in L.A. It took 8 years for that one to sink into my head. I am doing measurably better. Finally sleeping at night. The doctor has me changing my fentanyl patch every other day, so I am spared that third when the medicine starts to where off. Like a good Catholic, I’d call that day my day of martydom. They’ve switched a couple of my medicines and actually weaned me off two medications already. Now I am going to start reducing the fentanyl. I’m at the highest does: 100. Starting in a couple of days, I’m going down to 75, ten days after that 50, etc…I God, I hope and pray that this pain is receeding. It was starting to drive me mad. I see myself becoming a crank, the guy in the neighborhood who shakes his cane at truck drivers and yells at kids out of jealously simply because they are happy and healthy and I’m not.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

