RSS Feed

Grind that Thing!

Here’s what was waiting for me when I got home from the Credit Union (the Knights Who Say No!) There are sounds louder than pouring concrete, but we’ll get to them when we get to them.



Check out this painting on the front of Los Burritos, right on the Blvd of Broken Dreams, about the 6500 block, I do believe. I love how Mexico is in the upper right hand corner. It’s not intrusive, but you can’t miss it. That’s pride! I don’t know if I’ll ever eat there because of my celiac disease, but when I walked in, it looked decent.


Yes, walking home from Vine, I saw some unique and quaint little touches on some of the buildings and businesses. I took some pics. The Greco-Roman mold is on the side of the building that houses the market on Cherokee, right across from the check cashing place (cough,
cough, gag!)


It makes me feel proud to live in such a groovy place. All around me there are neat little artistic touches to everything. At the same time, I feel bittersweet because I know that the wrecking ball of progress is headed their way.


OH, WILL HE EVER SHUT UP!

There’s another blight on the Blvd of Broken Dreams: blaring radios and sound systems.

There! I said it! Wouldn’t it be nice to walk down the Blvd and just hear the regular city sounds? Just something to think about. Thanks for dropping by. Look for my special post on Russell’s Hollywood Heros!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

