RSS Feed

Hollywood Hero I: Snake

Let me tell you the little I know about Snake. He is wheelchair-bound and homeless. I don’t know the path he took that led him to this state. My first interaction with Snake was in the early hours of a summer morning- a Sunday, shortly after sunrise. I’d just had an interaction with a jerk that, in my current depressed state, left me sobbing uncontrolably right there on the Blvd of Broken Dreams! I heard a voice coming from a small alcove. It was Snake. I could not make out his words, but I assumed he was begging. “I don’t have any money!” I shouted through my tears.

“I don’t want any money, boss,” he said in a quiet, soothing voice. “I just wanted to let you know that things will get better.”

That’s the calibre of this man called Snake. The second time I met him was during another one of my early dawn walks (walking because your boy here has some problems with sleep). Anyway, I offered Snake a dollar and he said no. “I don’t want to take your money.” So if you see this man, know that he is a man of substance and character.

Snake- my Hollywood hero for Sunday, November 11, Veterans Day 2007:




About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

