RSS Feed

Where are we now?

The title is a paraphrase of one of my favorite writers, Kurt Vonnegut; may he rest in peace. In my previous blog, I posed the question: Can tagging reach the level of art. My only respondant said yes. I agree with him as well, but with one proviso: the tagging must increase the beauty of the structure being tagged. We all have our own definitions of beauty, so my proviso is a big copout, but that is the best I can do. For instance:

Do you think this dumpster looks better for the tagging? I don’t. There are some lovely examples of tagging in Hollywood. Try keeping your eyes open. I’ve seen some great stuff near Robin’s Market on Hollywood and, uhm, and uhm St. Andrews? Well, around there. If you’re from Hollywood, you know where I mean.



Here are some crows who were looking for action this morning in the construction lot next door. They are the clowns of the bird world; except when they’re eating other birds eggs. But hey! People eat eggs too!
Crows

Add to My Profile | More Videos


About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

