RSS Feed

A Scientology Christmas, plus today’s crazy

In my opinion, Scientologist exemplify all so clearly, the meaninglessness of Christmas, beyond providing a much-needed, year-end boost to the Gross Domestic Product. The dogma of Scientology is so nutty that you can’t make fun of it. It’s its own joke. Wikipedia does a nice treatment on what Scientologists believe. I’m not here to pick a fight with them. It just seems funny to me that they set up a Christmas Village every year on the Blvd. Of course it’s a marketing tool, but it’s just so darn zany! Here are some pics. Look for more pics and video of the Scientology Christmas Village as the horror that IS Christmas continues to draw near.

I know it doesn’t even look real. But that structure is assembled every year and they have a Santa, and recorded secular holiday music, and even fake snow. If you stop to enjoy this festive sidewalk dislplay, don’t be surprised if people who look very worn out ask you if you wouldn’t mind answering a few question. That’s your queue to leave.


The new Fredrick’s of Hollywood building is an obscene slap in the face to old Hollywood. It’s an ugly, featureless, structure that would do Stalin himself proud. It exemplifies all too clearly what the development dollars for Hollywood mean: sterilization via bauhaus. Poor Wedding Cake Building to have THAT thing as a neighbor!


And here’s today’s crazy. If you can’t make out what he’s shouting on his bicycle, it’s “All of them! All of them!” Maybe he just escaped from the Scientologists!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

