RSS Feed

Danny Bonaduce sighting, and Crazy People

That’s right! I saw Danny B. today around 2 p.m. bold as brass buttons riding his bicycle west down Hollywood Blvd. He had a cigarette dangling from his lips and that same wry expression that we first came to love in the Seventies! I even asked the man beside me to confirm, “That WAS Danny Bonaduce on that bicycle, wasn’t it?” “Oh, yes, it certainly was.” I ran home to call my wife at work, but only got her voicemail. I guess you just have to be a certain age to understand the spell that the Partidge Family cast over the US back in 1970.



How many times do you see a person who seems to have lost their mental faculties in the course of the day? How many times do they approach you, or annoy you, or just kinda scare you? I average one a day. Here are my two for today and yesterday.

This guy jumped into my face on Zonal Ave, just below LAC-USC (aka County Hospital) and nearly scared the Devil right out of me, truth be told. The other passers by seemed to share my intense aversion.

This lady was at Union Station, and honestly, she was more amusing than intimidating. But notice how much distance everybody is giving her. A lot more people could have cooled their heels on that bench if not for her and her weirdness with the walkman!


About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

