RSS Feed

Don’t let me loose!

On the Boulevard of Broken Dreams, that is. Oh, the sights and sounds I encountered today. First there was this lady. My challenge was to get a shot of her that indicated she was in an advanced stage of pregnancy, without giving away her identity. I think I did a good job. Given all the world’s problems, I think people who reproduce so casually should be taken out and shot! I’d be willing to bet that on average, people who crank out babies like Christmas cookies tend to be from the lower ranks of the IQ scale. C’mon, I’ll betcha. It’ll have to be a gentleman’s wager however, because I am flat busted! Coming from a large family myself, I hated vying for my mother’s attention and I know the strain on her was enormous. Do us all a favor and adopt a cat before you even CONSIDER having a baby. K?

Then there was today’s example of gentrification that just boils my blood:


The last time that I inquired, the starting rents for a teeny-tiny single (high camp factor w/ Murphy bed, but STILL!) was well over 2 thousand dollars. Where’s my barf bag?

It’s impossible to BUY a house anywhere in L.A. because of the mortgage meltdown crisis, credit crisis, and every body’s broke crisis. Now it’s impossible to RENT an apartment. I guess the management of this joint got around rent control because they renovated so heavily? What did they put in? A bistro, a step-cardio class, and other few other sheshegoogoo bobbles that nobody needs. Nobody except the rich. The whole plan for Hollywood is to sweep out all the riff-raff, like working middle class families, and bring in “people of quality,” as Lucy Ricardo might have said it.

This innocuous video demonstrates the careless contempt for city building ordinances

Why do I say that? Think of that lovely Anthony Quinn movie, Zorba the Greek, with it’s wonderful theme song: Never, never on a Sunday, a Sunday. Well, I guess if you clicked on the link, then you know that already. Can you hear the lady start to sing along with me, as we were waiting at the crosswalk? How cute is that! Sunday is a day of rest, only if you’re working on your own house is it okay to do construction work in the great County of Los Angeles.

Well, before you go, I just want to show you my newest crane pics that I took in front of the public library.

Crane no. 109

Crane no. 14

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

2 responses »

  1. OOOOOOOOOO, I’m scared!

    Reply
  2. Scientologist tongues are wagging!A Bliggy Observer

    Reply

Leave a Reply

