RSS Feed

Well, there’s the San Fernando Valley on the left. If you click on the image, you’ll get an even larger picture. I’ve been thinking about how much L.A. looks down on Hollywood, and then I started to think about how much I look down on the Valley. Does that make me a hypocrite? No! Because everybody looks down on the Valley, even the people who live there. All they want to do is get out! On the other hand, people who live in Hollywood, by and large, love Hollywood.

Dear readers, let me show this picture of a fellow that I met today as I was getting ready to cut through the parking lot of Musso & Frank’s to get home. We didn’t even exchange names.

“Hey, I like your shirt,” he said to me without even an hello.

“Thanks! I like your jacket.” You could tell he was proud of it.

After agreeing to let me take his picture, he asked me for a smoke.

“Sorry. I quit. How about a dollar?” I offered.

“That’s even better,” he said. After giving him the buck, we shook hands and he God-bless-you-ed me. It was one of those everyday exchanges that make me feel so special and happy to be a Hollywoodlian. We didn’t even exchange names. It’s like that here. Dig?

How about this footage of the north side of Hollywood Blvd?

If you go closer to Vine on the south side of Hollywood, some interesting shops are opening up soon. Look for vids and pics in upcoming Hollyblogs! I leave you with one of my latest YouTube uploads.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

