RSS Feed

End of the month walkies!

It’s time for another little stroll around the ‘hood. I’m on the Boulevard of Broken Dreams and I’m facing westwardly.

Here’s a picture of some beautiful architecture from the Middle Ages. I was looking for some glib way to insert it into the text, but sometimes I say to myself, “Well! You don’t have to dumb it down on every post! LOL Just kidding gentle, readers! This complex of buildings is called the Abbey of Fontrevault. There are other, more low-brow spellings floating around, but that is not the point. While it’s in France, a region called Anjou, two English Kings and two English Queens are buried here. One of the Queens, Eleanor of Aquitaine, was a fascinating woman who left her mark on history. While I’ve digressed, I ask the reader to examine how this space was used to house many nuns, who served in the nearby community. Why can’t we live like that now. Why does dense equal good? More tax payers per square inch, that’s why!

I like that view. Notice the cheap building in bottom front with the crappy roofing. See how it stands out? Luckily, the nuns don’t have to look down, but I have a feeling their new digs have air-tight windows and cheap, linoleum flooring.

Well, back to L.A. The Norberts and the Nullholands have finished carving out every inch of the valley, basin and canyons of this city. What’s to be done in a sinking market? Build! Now that they’ve got people driving two hours from Chino Hills to get to work Downtown, the next step is to get people to pay millions for lofts- apartments spaces that don’t even have fucking walls! But there is something wrong with that equation. The sinking housing market. Every day it glubs down like a refridgerator caught in quicksand. People could be losing their shirts; yet, they build- all the while prattling on about verticle development and ecosystems.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

