RSS Feed

The Grim March


In Hollywood it appears as though there is a Starbucks for every Homeless. I don’t think Starbucks gives away their leftovers at the end of the day, so for the Homeless, this probably isn’t a good thing. I love how the Starbucks at Mccadden and Hollywood removed all the outdoor tables and chairs in what appears to be an effective campaign to drive out the Homeless. You know, a lot of these characters did stink, but some of them were rather interesting if you bothered to bend down and listen to them.

But listen to me! I almost sound like an advocat (which I am not) for the Homeless. I applaud any measure that drives them away. It was Starbucks that served as a gathering place for them in the first place! Like the proverbial moths to the flame, it was only natural that the Homeless would view Stabucks- all liberal and softy- as perfect targets for settling in, much like the all night donut shops of yester year.

The one on Maccadden had a chance to be an edgey sorta joint, with cops scarfing on their free scones, washin’ ’em down with f.o.c. latte’s. Whores and trannies kickin’ it with hip tourists and tired townies. Even having a few cabs nearby would add to the low rent glamour.


Won’t somebody think of the dogs! Or is it soccer versus basketball?

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

