RSS Feed

The Day After- what’s really important?

I still don’t know the results of last night’s competition for those adorable little statues. But hey, did you catch the lunar eclipse the other night? I took a slew of pictures, so you can see it at different stages until it’s a wee, tiny sliver light with the Earth’s shadow looming over it like a big bully.

On Oscar night, we were treated with another celestial apparition:

Doesn’t it just make you shudder with awe? Does it make you want to clap and sing? Or just tires– Do you want to buy tires? Will they be the Blimp’s brand? Given our long national nightmare, I could not in good conscience buy that brand until after November 2008, when that moron is out of office. You don’t even have to ask,” Which moron?” “What office?” We all know. All of you who voted for that SOB should be self-flaggelating yourselves in the streets for what you are responsible for! Whoever replaces him promises to give us a good year.

Anyway, here’s what the Boulevard of Broken Dreams looked like Sunday morning, hours before the festivities started:

Us locals love this kind of morning. It’s like Christmas; or some post-apocalyptic scene. Ha! Jaunt across the street before the single Traffic Enforcement Officer can catch you. Then say Hi on the way back. So cool. Soon the ‘hood was flooded with every kind of police officer you can imagine. All to protect our living national treasures! And to prevent shameless jay walking.

So here’s the last image I have to share with you before I let you go.

Why don’t you come down to Hollywood and see if you can find where I took that lovely picture. Ciao, everybody! Until next time, xoxoxo

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

