RSS Feed

A she-she-la-la store of our own!


Have you noticed these signs on the streetlights? As I recall, the site for the new WholeFoods will be that abandoned lot on the north side of Hollywood Blvd in Thaitown. You know, just a couple of year ago, a fabulous artists with huge creations used to use that lot. I’ve forgotten how they got rid of him- unreasonable rent hike most likely. Dontcha just love this trendy couple up there? They seem so blissfully happy to be able to afford such prices exorbidant prices. They’ve got industry jobs more than likely. No doubt, they’ve just invested in one of the condos that are spreading like warts on a witch’s face all over Hollywood.

Here I can take a pause, because I’ve seen a few cars coming in and out of the Hubris. These are buyers who bought in before the market tanked (and continues to tank). Now that the Jefferson Project across the street is in full swing, I bet they’re kicking themselves in the behind.

Here’s a short clip showing the Jeff Project in action:

What never ceases to amaze me is the ugliness of this building. Beyond that, you must once again ask yourself ,”What were they thinking?” Already the grime from the Jeff Project across street, supplemented with L.A.’s famous smog have begun to etch their gunk on those finely molded concrete blocks. See for yourself. This pic was taken just today.

Isn’t that a fetching hue for the front of your building, The Hubris, that was gonna be such a splash? Can’t wait to see what it looks like in a year. And already, we’ve seen Hollywood’s famous taggers make their first foray into degrading The Hubris even more.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

2 responses »

  1. Hollywood Russ

    oh really? That’s pretty inconvenient for people in East Hollywood, but that makes sense. They’re digging like crazy of there! thanks, Russ

    Reply
  2. I thought whole foods was going into the project between the W and Washington mutual on Vine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

