RSS Feed

What with this, that and the other!

What a week it’s been! On my way to the Hollywood & Highland complex to see what I could see, I took this update footage of the Jefferson@Hollywood project. (Stupid! Stupid name for a complex in Hollywood. I can never get over that one!) It’s fucking funny because it’s just a big, fat hole in the ground, nothing more, but look for the goon they sent over to chase me away at the very end of the video. Off-camera he waggled his finger at me and shouted from across the street, “No video!” “That’s okay!” I yelled back. “I was just taking stills.” Stupid construction worker goons!

So I skedaddled over to THE MALL; that is, Hollywood&Highland for a little large living and much to my glee, I stumbled upon a real live labor dispute. Check it out for yourself.

I took the escalator up and the very first store you see is Oakley. I went and asked the cashier, a lovely, petite young Asian woman if she knew what it was all about? “Oh, my boss told me it was something stupid. They don’t have a permit, so they’ll be asked to leave. They did it yesterday too.”

Well, I tottered out of Oakley none the wiser than when I went in. As fate would have it, the gentleman on the left in the picture above holding up the labor sign was just outside the store when I exited. He was more than happy to talk to me. Here’s the skinny. He represents the Carpenter’s Union. They survey workers to find out if their wages meet with local practice. If they don’t, they will first approach the management of a corporation and warn them that they may face labor union action.

“It’s not a threat,” he told me. “It’s just a fact. If they can afford to spend millions on promotions, etc. then they should be able to pay their workers a living wage and offer them benefits.”

“I’m with ya one hundred percent!” I told him as I shook his hand. I’m embarrassed to admit that I wrote everything he told me down on paper, except his name. I’m pretty sure it was Johnny. For purposes of simplicity, I will call this man Johnny. Good job, Johnny! It’s people like you who make life a little better for the workers of this country who are constantly getting the shaft by corporate America. Don’t you just hate corporate America? Oh, it makes my blood boil just to think about it!

And the girl at the cashier at the Oakley store? Well, she’s an idiot to call the people who are trying help her get better wages and benefits “stupid.” And if any of you, my beloved readers purchase Oakley products after reading this, well then, I disown you. If you were a puppy, I’d bop you on the nose with a rolled up piece of newspaper so hard, you’d forget who was the bitch that gave birth to you!

Now for the final outrage. I paid $10 at the California Science Center to see the Bodyworks Exhibit a couple of years ago. Well, ticket prices have gone up a bit. See for yourself.




BTW – 2 more of those weird calls. See April 11 just below.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

2 responses »

  1. See Please < HREF="http://antispycompani.com/" REL="nofollow">Here<>

    Reply
  2. Hello. This post is likeable, and your blog is very interesting, congratulations :-). I will add in my blogroll =). If possible gives a last there on my blog, it is about the < HREF="http://sbtvd.blogspot.com" REL="nofollow">SBTVD<>, I hope you enjoy. The address is http://sbtvd.blogspot.com. A hug.< HREF="6021515678" REL="nofollow"><>

    Reply

Leave a Reply

