RSS Feed

Strolling the Hood

My doctor told me to try and walk as much as I can- to push myself as much as I can. So with that in mind, I walked up to the Long’s Drugstore on Hollywood Blvd just past the Chinese Theater. I took the scenic route (Franklin and then south on Orange). I think the street is Orange, but anyway, take a look.

Let me guess- condominiums above some shops and restaurants, with ample parking below the whole colossal mess. Who’s behind this project is anyone’s guess. Where they get their money is an open question. Will the project show any respect for the Chinese Theatre and at least try to reflect the beauty of their neighbor? I seriously doubt it. Watch as the developers take their big cranes and slash another part of the once-beautiful face of Hollywood!

Why are people investing here anyway? L.A. is a terrible market for selling housing and for buying housing. Hmmmmm, that tells me that the whole market is sinking, so to speak; clearly it’s not a good time to invest. Weird and upsetting all at the same time.

But what’s this? They’re filming some bullshit in the Babylonian courtyard at Hollywood and Highland mall. Take a look.

What fun! I love filming film shoots!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

2 responses »

  1. Hollywood Russ

    Thanks for the info, Melinda! I’m glad it’s not a condo or loft project, by why can’t those darn Brits keep their wax museum in London, where it belongs?Best wishes, R.H.

    Reply
  2. Madame Tussauds Wax Museum is going up on that corner next to the Chinese. Good news: not condos. Bad news: will probably put the Hollywood Wax Museum out of business.http://www.madametussauds.com/hollywood/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

