RSS Feed

Today’s walk

It’s just been another day up then down the Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Nothing special to report. Same ol’ bums, digging through the trash. Same ol’ dealers looking sly and nervous. It got hot today too. I worked me up a sweat. Something new for some time. I think it’s time to join a gym so I can rehab my knee and shoulder.

My love for the Pacific Theater will never die. I wish they would start lighting up the towers again. It was so beautiful! When the lights went on, it was a visible signal that the night had officially begun, even if the sun hadn’t quite set. It was like gay Paris, the city of lights. Sigh.

This was in the window of one of the costume shops on the south side of the Boulevard. I tried to memorize the address, but if you’re doing the Boulevard, you can’t miss it. Bravo! to whoever made this display. True artistry, even if it isn’t true to the ancient myth. I’m sure the Gods of Mount Olympus won’t take any offense. They must love Hollywood. Aren’t we keeping their memory alive? Just as well as some school book. We don’t need no education, man!!!

But this is where the real monsters hide. Don’t go in there, or you will be very sorry.

This is Hollywood Russ on the job, and watching, ever watching. And then writing a little.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

