RSS Feed

It was the day Hollywood Russ went nuts!

That’s right! I took a bucket load of videotaping that I am certain you will love. It’s my advertures in one day. Just trying to buy some labels at Long’s here. I ended up buying a CD from one of the young black men who pepper the Hollywood and Highland zone. He makes a great appearance later in the video. I haven’t had a chance to listen to the CD, but rest assured, a fair and balanced review will be coming soon. So anyway:

My day began with a trip to Union Station on the Red Line. Did you feel that fascist heat that was blowing my way, just because I was videotaping Earthquake Day? I worry about the future of this country, even with Obama in power. He can’t be everywhere all the time. And those right wingers keep having baby after baby, while the intelligent left only has one or 2, if any at all.

Back again at the peak of Hollywood and Highland. In case you don’t catch it, the name of the artist is Hustle.

Now we get to my ‘hood which looks more than a bit like a war zone. The developers (like pit-bulls) have snapped their jaws shut on poor old Yucca Street, which was once a cute haven between ritzy-tizy Highland Hills and the desolation below Hollywood Blvd.

Home again, home again. But wait- What’s this? As a native, I know I can just shoot down the alley on the right and be right at my door step. In fact, why haven’t I been doing it all along?

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

