RSS Feed

Meeting people, a prophecy comes true, it’s all too much!

Let’s start with saying a big Hello! to my neighbor Ben Anderson. He is a student at the Musician’s Institute (MI) here in Hollywood. Quite a few of my fellow residents of the Hollywood Pointe go to MI. A few seem like the type who just toss their shit into the garbage room, but the majority just seem like kids who want learn how to play their instruments at the next level up: from really good to excellent, professional. There have been more than one or two graduates who have become big stars. Okay. But many go on to become studio artists. And finally, most cool of all, to me at least, are the ones who go back home and start spreading Hollywood culture everywhere. Hollywood is indeed the place to go if you want to become a star. Right?

Now to less pleasant experiences. This female student from the University for Spoiled Children, on the Health Sciences Campus cut me (a pedestrian) off at the crossing for Biggie Street. She came that close to putting me in the soprano section of the choir. I got an Amy Winehouse kinda pic of her. What the hell is that thing in her mouth, a whistle? Did she think my poor Sony Handycam shot darts? Now she’s gonna try to tell people she’s being stalked. Guess what honey, just come by my little corner of the Web and see how you look. Now think about how your behavior is effecting your looks. Ain’t pretty. Besides being dangerout, cutting people off that way is just plain rude.

Something has finally come to pass that I have been predicting for over a year- perhaps even before they constructed the hideous thing. That’s right! I’m talking about the structure that had the HUBRIS to call itself the HOLLYWOOD! The units were going at a starting price of 7 hundred thousand dollars. No, I’m not kidding you. All along I said that they would have to break down and start renting out units before they went totally broke and lose everything in this FOOLISH venture. Just look!

See the For Rent Sign? It’s left of the telephone pole. It’s a crappy little sign that you can buy at any hardware store and they’ve got Westside Rentals scrawled on it along with their phone number. A big change from those fancy signs that said C’mon in! (easy credit, nudge, nudge, wink, wink) And now they have to cross their fingers and hope that people will pay crazy rents for the honor of living in this shithole of construction with its dirty air, noise, clogged traffic and all the rest. To quote Nelson from the Simpsons: Ha! Ha!
Have you eve seen anything more sad? I have. In fact, I am so tickled, but it makes me wonder why? Why do they keep on building?

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

