RSS Feed

Random (pot) shots

This is Lotería on Hollywood Blvd. It’s part of a fanchise of Mexican restaraunts. It’s a little hard to find because of the shrubbery, but if you are familiar with Hollywood, it’s right next door to Geisha House. The entrance is just to the right of the shrubbery. Same flora is great for eating outside because it protects you from every bum that wants to hold you prisoner while you try to eat. The food is between pretty good to excellent. I recommend the place; however, the management must have told them to be pushy. For instance, I ordered some flan, even though I was warned that that was the one thing on the menu that sucked. My friend told me explicitly, “Get anything but the flan.” So I turn around and order it. It’s very heavy and flat. When the waiter came back for to my table for the tenth time, he started singing the praises of the flan, “Isn’t the flan great? So rich! So full of flavor!” I wanted to say, “Personally I prefer my flan lighter.” But that would have been rude. So go to Lotería on Hollywood Blvd, just don’t order the flan. It IS a wee bit pricey, but if you’re taking a date there, best to bring a credit card that has at least $100 balance. I’m assuming you like to drink wine.

Here’s a little game: Can you find where on the Boulevard of Broken Dreams that I took this lovely photograph?

More random shots:

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

