RSS Feed

How the mighty

Saleswoman taking in “For Rent” signs

It’s with great satisfaction that I watch the once proud and mighty, “Live the Hollywood” reduce itself to employing Help-Me-Rent to dump their overpriced condo units (2-br, starting at 700K) as apartment spaces now. I didn’t just pull that figure out of the air. They still have the arrogance to keep up their “Condos for Sale” sign. It clearly details all the benefits of plunking down that kind of money on something that will be nearly impossible to resell!

A few people bought into The Hollywood before the big October 2008 economic slide into oblivion. I’m sure they can absorb the losses. What they lose in equity, they recoup in lower property taxes. The rich can never lose. Remember that! I just hope that it will serve as a beacon to other developers to stay away from the rocky shores of Hollywood. I know I’m like a broken record, but look at my neighborhood! And when I “neighborhood,” I’m just talking about MY little block!

Most repellant in the nearby area is the abandoned project on LaBrea, just below Hollywood Blvd. Six floors of rotting wood taking up a whole city block. I hope and pray that they have decent security in place there. Honestly, it’s a pyromaniac’s dream. I don’t care how fire retarded the lumber salesman says it is. Wood burns. That’s a fact most Southern Californians know only all too well.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

