RSS Feed

Subway cars are stinkin’, but Hollywood stars are blinkin’

This is why I will always love my neighborhood. Last Monday I was coming home from work, feeling down, as low as down can get. When the train came into Union Station, it was easy for me to get a disabled seat on the Dred Line. I also like to be in the first car, as close to the driver as possible. I don’t feel very safe on the subways, so if I scream “HELP!,” it may be addressed as a serious situation. A woman sat near me in one of the few seats facing me in that part of the car. As we waited for the train to depart, we were all assaulted with a terrible odor. I asked if she smelled it, but she was already covering her face with her hands. This isn’t the first time this has happened to me on the subway. Whatever they’re doing, it can’t be good. It smells worse than sewage, so one is apt to blame a homeless person. But it smells worse than most homeless people I’ve encountered- not all, but most. What’s going on Mr. Metro Man?

Anyway, the odor dissappated after a few minutes, leaving everybody shocked, but relieved. I said, to no one in particular, “I live in Hollywood, so don’t try to talk to me about smells.”

The women sitting near me said, “Now wait a minute! I’ve lived in Hollywood many years and I love it.” She was a medium completed black woman, about my age, with a totally Southern California accent. (Yes, there is one- not the Valley Girl one either).

I apologized immediately and replied, “I love Hollywood too! I’ve lived there 10 years and I never want to move.”

She smiled and said, “Thirty years.”

I said I must be a newbie,” but she just smiled and shook her head, “Ten years is a long time.”

We chatted away until Pershing Square because of the crowding. She got off at Vine and I got off at Highland.

Please enjoy this brief YouTubery of an amazing child prodigy. He loves making music. What a gift!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

