RSS Feed

Google will stop at nothing!

I just realized that the “Become a follower” gadget at the bottom is the beginninig of Google’s assault on Facebook, both of which are free! I have to admit, the Google version of a social interaction blog/site is much smoother than the Facebook interface, that has become so complicated that it’s MySpacing its way into a “once a week sorta thing,” as I’ve heard more than one person say in those exact words. Survival of the fitest is the name of the game, but that doesn’t always happen in the world of computerization. For instance, I can’t believe the stampede to buy Kindles. I guess if it saves a bunch of trees, then it’s a good thing, but I want to leaf through the pages, okay? I don’t need to start downloading my books into a giant iPod-like device that ACTS like a book when you read it. I want the book, the real thing. Nothing personal, I guess it is just another example of the fact that I’m a 20th Century Boy.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

