RSS Feed

What a week!

It all started on June 25, 2009. Seemingly within minutes of each other, Farah Fawcett and Michael Jackson both die. Farah- the world’s last pinup girl, who gazed down at every adolescent boy’s bed in the 1970’s, star of such movie greats as Logan’s Run and t.v. movies such as, The Burning Bed, died as she lived, with incredible class, surrounded by friends and loved-ones, including ex-husband Ryan O’Neal. Farah’s Story was her last gift to the world. The Washington Post has a nice obituary and and photogallery. Remember to bring a box of tissues before going to this site!

From PoliticoGoGo

We hardly knew you!

As for Michael Jackson, I am trying not to obsess on his death. Since everybody is talking about it, I won’t even link to a particular story. One interesting tid-bit that I got from The Young Turks, was that Liza Minelli told Larry King that when the Coroner’s toxicology report came out, all you-know-what was going to hit the fan. (This is off the top of my head, so it’s quasi-quote, ask the producer of Young Turks for the specifics.) Maybe she was just specularing, being the daughter of a woman whose blood stream was a dangerous narcotic. And from what I hear, Liza with a Z isn’t much better. Apples don’t fall far from the tree. Grandmama Jackson has swooped over Blanket and the older two and brought them under her wing, petitioning the Family Court in…Beverly Hills, I’m guessing, to grant her full custody. Debbie Rowe, the mother of the older two children is M.I.A., as is Michael’s personal physician.

Like the song says, “Go on, take the money and run!” He probably found the body. I can see it now, he calls the “Handlers,” and as a team, they walk around the room stuffing prescription pads and bottles of demerol, syringes, the whole bit into big trash bags, never even touching Michael’s body, just stepping over it. The one whose a lawyer sushes the others out of the room, calls 911, opens a safe and stuffs some wads of bills into his pockets. Now it’s all over but the crying.

From PoliticoGoGo

This world was never meant for one as beautiful as you.

Well, I said I’m TRYING not to obsess. Then on Sunday we had the military coup d’etat in Honduras. At least they didn’t shoot the President in the head! I hate that when that happens!

Then there’s Mark and Jenny Sanford’s marriage. Who cares if they stay together. This hypocritus maximus needs to resign and resign now. Here goes another family values character who is caught with his pants down. Now shuffle off to oblivion where you belong, you prick!

From PoliticoGoGo

By the way, where IS your upper lip?

Last, but not least is the news that the Minnesotoan Supreme Court has ruled in favor of comedian Al Franken against Norm (Crybaby) Coleman. That Coleman actually conceded instead of pushing it to the Supreme Court is a disaster for the Republican Party. First of all, it gives the Democratic Party that lushious sixtieth seat in the Senate, making them Full Masters of the Senate- fillubuster-free! Additionally, you can bet that the ultra-right SCOTUS would surely have found a way to squeeze Mr. Coleman into the Senate. Look how they called the 2000 Presidential Election, 5-4 split. Trust me, all those guys have seen Stuart Saves his Family and they were not amused. Well, there’s talk of putting him on the Judiciary Committee. That should spice up the Sotomayor hearings!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

