RSS Feed

Holy man : Interview with a street preacher

This interview was not meant to be, nor do I believe that it is, exploitative in any way. I hope that Amah allows me to interview him again in the future. Notice that he does not condemn, nor does he carry any signs. He doesn’t shout at passers-by. He never asks for money. How does he eat, I wonder?

Background information : Liberia
Map:

From Watch yer back!

There are a lot of good sites that give great information on Liberia, a country founded by free Black men from the U.S. who wanted to return to Africa. It began to be settled in 1822 and by 1847, these enterprising men established a republic. Sadly, the Americans became an upper class, the governers of the country, while various ethnic groups who were displaced and moved into the interior became an underserved, exploited lower class. The script writes itself.

VIDEO:

Liberia calls itself America’s stepchild, and with good reason. We stood aside and did nothing to help Liberians. We should have sent our own aid organizations into the interior and in the slums of cities like Monrovia.

From Watch yer back!

Some of the scenes described in Ms. Cooper’s book are blood-curdling, but it is by far the best book that I read in 2009. Very poignant and moving. The author Helene Cooper works as the White House coorespondant for the New York Times.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

