RSS Feed

Gropenator’s policies fuel the fires

Of all the nerve! I open Google news and see a link to a CNN story that quotes the embarassment of a governor, California’s own Arnold the Gropenator, warning people to take evacuation warnings seriously. The subtext is that anyone who’s hurt, or killed, has only themselves to blame. Why didn’t they listen to the warnings? Some people are homebound. Some people are isolated. They don’t have the wherewithall to just jump in their Humvee and go. Be that as it may. I am the first to admit that there are stupid assholes who refuse to evacuate

It is because of the policies of this governor that we are experiencing these monstrosities. Back in the good old days, they used to do controlled burns. Controlled burns prevented these mind-boggling debacles from happening. But something happened to the fire prevention budget. Fire prevention saves lives and money. If you want a return on an investment for this state, fire prevention is a great place to put MORE funds, not less.  Here’s a little tid bit from the L.A. Times archives. They won’t give you the article to read, just the abstract. That’s all you need, trust me. So guess what happened to the fire prevention budget. If you guess that it went down, you are absolutely right.

Now I beg you to read the story below. It will tell you so much more than I can because I’m not an expert. What I do know is that Republicans ruin everything and this is another example.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

