RSS Feed

RED ALERT!

It has come to my attention that some self-described “fool” and “two-bit actor” recently appropriated the name Hollywood Russ. Well the cream always rises to the top. Go ahead and do a google search under “Hollywood Russ” or “HollywoodRuss.” Either way I am top the hit. This newcomer, who only began posting last year on Blogspot is lowest form of thief – the unimaginative, faux artist. They say immitation is the highest form of flattery; however, identify theft is no laughing matter.

This man calls himself an actor? I challenge him on any stage to be judged by anybody as to who is the better actor. To threaten another person on the Internet is cowardly; however, to challenge another “artist” on the stage via a peaceful venue is entirely different.  If he calls himself Hollywood Russ, he must know by now that I exist because I already have that domain name! That should tell you something right off. I was first.

At the risk of repeating myself, the cream rises to the top. We will see what’s what! Consider this your cyber bitch slap. There! How’d that feel? Wanna ‘nother? There! How’d ya like that?

SAH-LAP!
This is the last time I will address this issue on the my web site. I don’t want it to be soiled by the droppings of a coo coo bird as it flies out of the nest. I live in Hollywood and it nutured me creatively for over a decade.  It continues to nurture me. I  record it for posterity through photography and video – mostly unpublished, unexciting archival material. For instance, there are dozens of photographs of the cranes that spread over Hollywood like a swarm of locusts, leaving behind unoccupied housing units that nobody can afford. Then there is the spectre of Depression, such as the massive construction job left abandoned just south of Hollywood & La Brea. That’s my baby.  I’ve taken pictures of street corners pre and post bulldozing. I’ve recorded details of remarkable buildings that could “burn down” any day now. Either way, Hollywood is convulsing with change; yet, Hollywood is immortal. I took the name Hollywood Russ because I love to the point of worship this neighborhood of mine. I didn’t take it as some nome de plume in order to further a hopeless acting career.
About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

