RSS Feed

Barney Frank, et al move up Credit Card Reform date to Dec 1

Washington, DC – Reps. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), author of the credit card reform bill signed earlier this year by President Obama, and Barney Frank (D-MA), Chair of the House Financial Services Committee, today introduced legislation which changes the effective date for the reforms in that bill to December 1, 2009.

H.R. 3639, the ‘‘Expedited CARD Reform for Consumers Act of  2009,” would move up the effective date of the remaining provisions of the Credit CARD Act, which are now scheduled for February and August 2010.

“Pew Charitable Trust reports that interest rates have spiked by an average of 20% on credit cards representing more than 91% of the $864 billion in outstanding credit card balances. It’s clear that credit card companies are taking advantage of this period between the signing of my bill and the current effective date,” Rep. Maloney said. “The breadth and depth of the rate hikes happening now point to the need for faster consumer protections. Americans need relief now.”

Original co-sponsors on H.R. 3639 include Reps. Capuano, Sutton, Schakowsky, Hirono, and Tierney.

If you Google “H.R. 3639” you will get a link to the bill. It’s in Adobe Acrobat 9.0 My computer only has Adobe 5 or 6. To get Adobe 9, you need an Intell Processor. I really need to upgrade my poor Imac soon!
About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

