RSS Feed

Can’t win

This is the corner of Yucca and Mccadden. See the pretty Wedding Cake Building? Such a lovely sight! But to the developers, nothing is sacred.

What a world!

What a world!

Ten months later and what have you got?

I have also recorded how the developers transformed this corner via photography. Maybe next post I’ll just let you watch the change a month or so at a time. Well, now you know my two pet Hollywood peeves : over-development and homelessness. When people say I have no compassion for video tapping these people, I say they have no compassion for looking at what we collectively have done by not advocating for public services. I’d take a big cut out of my paycheck to improve the roads, the schools, psychiatric services, homeless shelters and to hire more police and firemen.

Another service that I like to provide is reviews, mostly movie reviews, but also live stage, which means anything from improve comedy to a hard core band at a dive bar here in Hollywood, where the stars are created. I just saw a documentary calledAmerican Teen . I give it a B+. The premise of this documentary is to follow around a group of seniors in high school and record their trials and tribulations as they transition from childhood to official adulthood. By the end of the movie I really loved some of the kids and absolutely hated others. You can guess who’s who for yourself. There are sections of animation that at first seemed facile, but then I got it. Children live in a cartoon world of fantasy, while the grim reality of life crushes us poor adults day in and day out. With some of these kids, you could see the pain so clearly on their faces as the ponder and worry over their futures. Yes, it’s a solid B+. What could the movie makers have done to make it an A? There are scenes that seem very stagey and come across more like a teen soap opera based in Warsaw, Indiana. Despite that, I heartily recommend this movie for rental.

Share

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Comments are closed.

