RSS Feed

Wallet lost – wallet found. How zen!

Funny thing happened on the way to the Pharmacy. When I went to the subway stop, I was greeted by a police officer and his sniffy dog. I asked the officer if it would be okay to take his picture w/ the Hollywood & Highland metro stop sign in view. He graciously assented. Isn’t it adorable?

Dogandcop
Meet XXZYLO and Officer Haiden

Doggy didn’t think I noticed when he sniffed my backpack. “Just doin’ my job, sir.” He’d say, but it would sound like “Arf!” I took this pic this very morning on the way to Plaza Pharmacy at USC. One of the few pharmacies that will perform compounding. I was prescribed 100 mg erythromycin. So they have to buy big bottles of powdered erythro and pour it into a machine that measures perfect 100mg capsules. What happened to the good old days when everybody used triple beam scales? If it was good enough for my grandfather, well it’s good enough for me. Hell, we used it for other purposes, I won’t lie, but I’m not Bill Maher, living in a world of limited consequences for my behavior. So I’ll just leave it at that. The point I’m meandering my way toward is that the copay for these 100mg capsules of a drug that’s older than God, so to speak was a whopping $25! Ridiculous. Give me a prescription for 500 mg capsules and I’ll pay 2 and a half bucks. I can compound them myself. I do own a pill cutter. Cut in half, the pill equals 250, into quarters 125mg. Break a teeny-weeny bit off that quarter and Voilà! I’ve got my 100 mg pill!

Anyway on the way home, Russell the Sap buys a necklace from a woman on the subway. I drop my wallet, unknowingly and then miss my stop. Before checking carefully that I have everything, I bolt out the door at the next stop. I wait for the train to take me one stop home. It’s a long ride, let me tell you. I rush home. Cancel both of my debit cards. (Who has credit anyway?) Two minutes after making my online appointment for a new driver’s license, I get a call from X. She has found my wallet! Tomorrow Robin and I have to drive out to Van Nuys to pick it up. Damn! Freaky how things work out? I hope it’s not a scam, or a set up. I don’t want to die in a car trunk being forced to make withdrawals at gun point. I wouldn’t be able to comply, so they’d have to drive me out to the LAX airport parking lot and snuff me there, like in Jackie Brown.

I guess watching all those YouTube videos is freaking me out. All these nutjob right wingers calling Nancy Pelosi, Nazi Pelosi and phraseology like ‘rag heads.’ It makes me want to pack a suitcase and repatriate to France. When I look at Minority Leader Beohmer’s YouTube site, it makes me want to vomit. Americans have degenerated into slack-jawed troglodytes. You should read the commentary to some of his 30 second videos. Can you blame me if I want to go back to the land of my birth? They say the per capita income is $34,000/year. Wow! That’s a raise for me and my wife! Some right-wing woman with a hint of a French accent started laying into Obama, claiming he was trying to follow to French model of economics? What model is that, Madame? Oh, national health care! Oh and don’t forget, worker rights! God forbid that management be forced to negotiate in good faith with the workers they exploit!

bo

Love thy neighbor

I hate bigots. This guy on YouTube was complaining that “mexicans don’t want to assimilate.” Why the hell should they? America stole this big chunk of land from Mexico. I’m just talking about California now. Let’s not go into the way we stole Texas, or New Mexico or forced them to sell us Arizona at gunpoint. Then the fascist neocons wonder why so many come here. It’s absurd. I guess if the immigrants spoke French, it wouldn’t be much of a problem. N’est-ce pas? If it were the other way around, these right-wing nut jobs would be doing anything and everything to cross that border; those very same Minute Men, and other fascists at large who call themselves patriots!

Obama greets the returning dead troops, the first president to do so, and the right-wing tries to demonize him over that. Now they’re trying to make hay over the Fort Hood massacre. Excuse me, but everybody on that base signed up for the honor to die for their country. This was not a terrorist attack and to call it one makes a mockery of all the dead in New York and Northern Virginia who were really killed by terrorists, not some random wacko! Have you seen Bill O’Reilly’s latest screed of filth? Making hay over this tragedy. It’s despicable. Loathsome. I’m done. Wait a minute! Bless you, Congressman Henry Waxman, where ‘er you may be!

Share

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

