RSS Feed

A field trip! And a sexy new banner!

To King Gillette Ranch!

Robin and I went to one of the great parcels of land that her agency saved from developed in the hopes of maintaining wild life corredors. It’s called the King Gillette Ranch. Just like the movie director King Vidor, the maker of the Gillette razor was named King Gillette!

Here we are arriving at the park:

Robin took most of the still pictures, so I recommend going to her Facebook page, or Picassa. So there’s a good chance that some of you have already seen her gorgeous picture of that giant heron (I swear it looked like a blue heron.) And the picture of the strange insect in what resembled a fire poppy to me. Anyway, my East Coast eye couldn’t help but glory in the budding of roses in November. For your delectation.

"Two roses bloomed, one red, one white..."

The garbled quote is from a sonnet written by Joan Jordan, a great poet – born in Philly, last seen in one of the more remote regions of vast expanse.

More video! You’ll love this, so beautiful it is!

On a Monday after morning or before afternoon rush hours, the drive from Hollywood to Calabasas was 30 minutes tops. I was very proud of myself for clambering over walls and across fields. It was quite an adventure. If my knee is going to hurt, then hurt it shall, whether I use it or not. Apparently my left hamstring is visibly smaller than the right, so I need to get to work doing gentle knee bends, and use that giant ball in a way that is difficult to describe. I put it against the wall. I place the small of my back against the ball. I squat a bit and then rise, rolling the ball against the wall, real nice and stable like. Sounds easy enough. Do it 25 times! Three sets! Go! Tick toc. Tick toc. Go! Go! Go!

Ah, but the peaceful breeze and the sound of bird song was intoxicating. We were there for about 2 whole hours. We drove around a little, but we were ready to go home after all that activity! God bless the Santa Monica Mountains Conservancy! God bless the National Park Service! Last but not least, God bless the Mountains and Recreation Conservation Authority! All examples of government working and working well! MRCA itself also proves that different levels of government can coördinate their activities effectively and efficiently. Have you driven down Mulholland Drive lately? All the houses that cluster on the very edge of parkland look intrusive and garish Why not buy that parcel of land and give it to the Park Service? People with that kind of money can build their mansions anywhere. Why, on the very edge, even clustered around park entrances, these mod stilt jobs make me ill.

Clinging to the edge

Share

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

One response »

  1. this video reminds me the guy from Piano Briefs who makes improvs without clothes 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

