RSS Feed

Scooby says, “Sorry!”

Oh, the humiliation!

I really don’t know what happened the last time I tried to share a post from this blog. Maybe because of the domain change, I will have to forward those “shortlinks” provided by WordPress from now on. That seemed the only solution with the debacle that was supposed to be the inaugural post with the new domain! On the second try, I copy’n’pasted what they call a Permalink to resend the blog, but that link didn’t work either. From now on, I shall forward the shortlink to those of you who wish to remain on my mailing list. I’ve already gotten one hate email, just minutes after pressing that first Send button. People can be so cruel. Oh, the humiliation! Where’s that paper bag to put over my head?

Well now that I’ve finished excoriating myself for that blunder, I’ve collected some beautiful pics and videos for you. Let me first present you with a simple streetscape. It is at the northwest corner of Hollywood and Highland, on Hollywood Blvd facing West.

What's going on here?

The drummer wasn’t drumming, and I could not help but compare him to my friend Trey who goes insane with those paint buckets. Trey is an artist. With that percussion equipment, he could tear the stars right off that pavement! As for me, I just love the composistion of this pic. The foreground forces you to move your eyes from right to left to the bizarre drummer. Photography 101 A+, Russell! See the woman in the center makes this pic. Notice how she’s staring at the ground. Whose star is that, I wonder? She’s the anchor that  holds the photograph together. I have a second without her and it doesn’t have that umph, for lack of a better word.

Next I have a video of a man with his snake, taken the same day, Thursday, Novemeber 12, 2009

I’ve held and petted the python. Oddly the owner doesn’t have a name for it. He laughed at my obvious shock when he told me that the snake was just called “snake.” I told him that if I owned it, I’d name. “What would you name it?” he asked with a smile. “I don’t know. I’d have to get to know it first.” He feeds it every two weeks. When it was younger, it ate mice. As it got older, rats had to fill the bill. Now he’s so big, he needs a bunny every two weeks. When I pet it or hold it, it doesn’t try to constrict me to death. It just gets a friendly purchase. Some might be freaked out by just holding it, but even more interesting to me is that it looks you right in the eyes, unflinching and unafraid. I asked the owner if it gets to know people. “Oh, sure! She likes you!” You know me, Mr. Questions. “Do you know if a boy or girl?” He shook his head “no.”

Share

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

One response »

  1. These are not the views one thinks of when the word Hollywood is spoken or imagined. Reality is a wonderful thing,but Hollywood’s stock in trade is fantasy. The revelation of the other everyday scenes is a good thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

