RSS Feed

Out with the brushfires

In with the mudslides!

Suffer the poor

The man above is extremely ill, both mentally and physically. He is suffering from some kind of cardiovascular disease. That is not fat gathering around his legs; it’s fluid. Edema is the medical term. I took this picture across the street from the Twin Tower (aka L.A. County Jail). This was just a few days ago when I was coming or going to a doctor’s appointment – my poor excuse for a social life. I wonder where this poor soul is sleeping on a night like this. I wonder where he gets his food? How does he even walk?

Home sweet home

I like the glare in the upper left hand corner of this picture. It reminds me of how Hollywood is a place for damaged, fucked up people. It also means to me that Hollywood is not Tinseltown, it’s also just a dot on the map. Wave to the tourists in their double-decker buses everybody!

Share

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

