RSS Feed

Street preachers and roaches

But that’s life in Hollywood

This guy is beyond creepy. Those glasses and the microphone remind me of one man, Jim Jones. Not only that, you should take note of his dismissive attitude toward education and science. The strongest pillar in every religion is an ignorant flock. Take a good look at the rabble listening to him. When I turned off my camera, the fellow eating the pre-made sandwich, leaning against the pole, assaulted me with curses, “You’re a hater! You worship the devil! Blah, blah…” He was no more than five inches from my face. I could smell the mayonnaise on his skanky breath. Clearly he was either a meth or crack addict who’d not slept for a day or two. His eyes sparkled with the poisons in his system. I replied, “Is this an example of your Christian love?” The rabble backed off. I had to top it off with, “I’m not afraid of you.” I could see that they were afraid of me. If he’s there tomorrow, I’ll be there too, camera in hand.

A formidable foe

Unlike the Jesus freaks, I can deal with cockroaches in a more detached, scientific manner. Also they are easier to shove off the curb. It seems as if every time I drive one Jesus freak off of my corner, another one replaces him. This new guy may be a tougher nut to crack, however, because he has a microphone setup and thugs to back him up. But he’s there to save my soul, even if it means breaking my neck.

At the risk of repetitiveness, I’m not afraid. I’ve got my own sword and shield – a rational mind and a videocamera. Next time I won’t be in a hurry to turn it off. Next time, I may pretend to turn it off and see what happens. When he said, “I never heard of physics creating anything,” that’s when I knew I was dealing with a dangerous character. He pretends to give others a fair hearing, but he doesn’t.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

