RSS Feed

Two reviews, a photo and an update too!

First with the fun stuff!

Robin and I went to see Sherlock Holmes staring Robert Downey, Jr. and Jude Law. Upon seeing the billboards announcing the upcoming release, my question was, “Well, which one is Holmes and which is Watson?” My conception of Dr. Watson, aptly played by Nigel Bruce, as being a bit chubby and Holmes a bit scrawny was a probably a hybrid of reading the complete works of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and watching all those old Basil Rathbone movies. I love both actors, but at the time I was obliged to think that this might be a drastic case of miscasting. As if to confirm my reservations, I even saw one bus stop ad that read, “Robert Downey, Jr. is Sherlock Holmes!” Okay…thanks for clearing that up.

After seeing this 135 minutes long extravaganza, the first thing I have to say is this. Thank God Guy Ritchie dumped that parasite Madonna and got back to work! What was he even thinking in the first place? Now he’s stuck with a son named Rocky Ritchie. The movie was quick-paced fun. The 2 hours and 15 minutes flew by with the speed of a hummingbird. Those who poo-poo a fist fighting Holmes probably never read the stories. Let’s not forget that Sir Authur tried to kill him off by hand to hand combat with Dr. Moriority in the Swiss Alps! Sherlock never begged off at a chance at fisticuffs. And now that I remember it, Dr. Watson was engaged and eventually did marry is belovèd Mary. So maybe he wasn’t that old or portly as the Basil Rathbone movies made him out to be. I don’t believe in the star system. It’s either thumbs up or down when it comes to movies. This one gets a big thumbs up for acting, direction, special effects, and camera work. The final scene in the movie is a breathtaking recreation of Victorian London from about 500 feet above the Thames. Let’s not forget the small roles. In a movie like this, the thugs must look thuggish and the damsels must look good in their bustles. From top to bottom this movie rocks. Run don’t walk to the theatre. Here’s the official preview, in case you need that extra nudge.

A second location!

Now for your second review. Those of you who happen to haunt West Hollywood may be fans of the restaurant Kings Road Cafe. If so then you can eat at their new location in Studio City. The music wasn’t too loud (I hate that!) and the service was superb. These are just the little things that make a restaurant either good or bad. The major factor of course is the food. Robin ate the penne pasta with braised beef. She loved it. (I can’t eat gluten, so I have to rely on Robin’s opinion.) It was rich and delicious! The serving was so ample that she was able to take home a considerable portion in a styrofoam doggie bag. As for me, I tried the huevos rancheros with corn torillas. If an eatery botches something so basic, there’s no point in returning. The eggs were over-easy, the way I like ’em and I didn’t find myself crunching on tortilla chips covered with cheap American cheese and a murderous hot sauce. Yes, we ordered lattés. It’s nice to see a barista who take pride in their job. They were delicious and looked something like this. In this economy it’s nice to see at least one business expanding, rather than shuttering.
lattes Pictures, Images and Photos

Image courtesy of RachieD123 on Photobucket

Time for the Piece of Art

Photograph by Russell Smith

Update on Project at Las Palmas and Yucca Streets

Here’s the link to the current permit for the job, a 5-story apartment complex. The safety inspector is named John Carpenter. No, not the movie director, this guy works for the city. I left a message on his phone this morning, but never got a call-back. Here are the digits, if you’d care to lend your voice to those who are concerned about the impact of this project on the neighborhood – (213) 482-0364. If I can get an email for the guy, I’ll be sure to send him videos of some of the more hazardous behavior going on at the site.

That’s about all for now. Hooray for Hollywood!

Coming soon. Tired of crime? Tired of Noise? Tired of Panhandlers and drug addicts. We can do something. The Wilcox Police Station…what they are and are not doing!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

