RSS Feed

I’m back!

And I survived Snowmegedon!

Jack Frost came by early on to greet me!

I’ ve always been pretty lucky with my winter travels, so it was about time that my number should get called out. First I came down with a brutal cold within a few days of getting over my jet lag. Instead of just sucking it up, and tanking up on the Sudafed, I changed my departure date from February 4 to February 7. BWI (Baltimore/Washington International Airport) got buried under 30 inches of snow in a blizzard that will go down in the history books as, “Snowmegedon.” Needless to say, Flight 307 to LAX from BWI was cancelled. Supposedly they’ve promised full refunds for ticket holders for those flights. I’m just contemplating how many flaming hoops I’ll need to jump through in order to get that money.

My mother is the dearest person in the world. She’s so tender-hearted. It’s not hard to bring her sparkling eyes to tears. But don’t be fooled. She’s also a Southerner and a survivor of the Great Depression. I want to share this video with you of my mother retrieving the morning paper, the Daily Item, from its mailbox. Born and raised in Alabama, my Mom followed my Dad to West Germany when he got a job with Stars and Stripes. Three youngun’s in tow, mind you and two more babies to be born on foreign soil. Okay, let’s roll ’em!

There were a few points during the visit where I felt as though I may have worn out my welcome, but that was just my own hangups. I love my parents unconditionally and I know the feeling is mutual. Not only that, but I look up to them as a model of successful parenting and of surviving hard times. It brings to mind the Ruth Etting song, Laughing at Life. “You’ll lose all your blues laughing at life!”

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

