RSS Feed

Magical Hollywood Moments

Beloved Wedding Cake Building

Detail of building at Hollywood & Highland

I used to be able to see this marvelous Hollywood landmark from my doorstep. Such is life, I suppose.

Strange Contraption

I’m sure that there are plenty in the Industry who can tell us what the purpose of the tube strapped to this man’s back is. If so, please leave a comment catching the rest of us up. Without meaning to ridicule, he looks like a walking vacuum cleaner. To protect his privacy, I’ve made sure that his face is obscured. Without the strange contraption on his back, I’m certain that you wouldn’t know him from Adam, if you should meet him on the street. Normally I would have questioned him about it, but he gave off decidedly negative vibes, so we must content ourselves with the pictures.

Love the hat!

Taking a brisk walk

Dueling Spidermen

Performers pause a moment

Back into action

Please forgive the blur, but with my palsied hand and moving subjects, there’s only so much that Photoshop can do. Click on the video below to see a truly magical Hollywood moment!

I must say that these fellows were perfect gentlemen. They didn’t know I was filming them, so when I came back from CVS and gave them each $2, their reaction was one of surprise. “What’s this for?” Asked the Spiderman on the left. I told them that I’d taken some photographs and a video from across the street. They were willing to let me take more pictures! Bless them. They also told me how many people promise to tip, but then scurry off once they’ve taken their pictures or videos. Such people should be fined! It’s outrageous. The street characters add to the charm of Hollywood Blvd. Otherwise, most people would just walk the Boulevard of Broken Dreams with their heads down, reading the names on the stars. Quite honestly, most of the names are unrecognizable but to a few Hollywood historians. On top of that, they’d end up with hyper-extended necks. That hurts in the morning!

BTW the link on the word tip (above) is a list of Tinseltown’s worst tippers. Some of the names should be of no surprise. Tiger Woods? Do tell!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

5 responses »

  1. i truthfully love your own posting taste, very unique,
    don’t quit and also keep posting for the simple reason that it simply good worth to read it.
    excited to look into a lot more of your posts, cheers 😉

    Reply
  2. I think this was really good. Captured what I felt when walking among all the neighbohood folk who lend such unique ambience to the area. Not the artificial “glam” most people are so carried away with when you say Hollywood. Love it.

    Reply
  3. A cool variety you have in this post.
    Great stuff

    Reply

Leave a Reply

