RSS Feed

OSCARE!

Evil Idol

There it stands, mocking us little folk, tourists or natives, we’re all the same to it. The Idol represents privilege and status over equality and community. To those who enjoy watching the Academy Awards, go for it, I say! Eat your popcorn and make your guesses. Laugh at the jokes, or roll your eyes. It’s as decent an excuse to throw a party as any.

I gave up on watching years ago for a couple of reasons. The art direction for all awards shows suck. I guess it’s the genre, but I remember one year back in the Eighties, when Rob Lowe was the MC. Could that really be? No, he wasn’t the MC but he did perform in an act that included dancing around with these women with light sabers or something crazy like that. I remember saying to myself, “This is the nadir of televised entertainment.” Time would prove me wrong of course, but it was the year when I realized that the best didn’t win. If Marisa Tomé can beat out Judy Davis for any award, then the Oscars proved they were truely pieces of worthless crap.

Then there’s the story of the down and outters who are forced to sell their Oscars. Remember the guy with no hands from The Best Years of our Lives? His name was Harold Russell. He won two Oscars in 1946 – one for best actor and an honorary Oscar – For bringing hope and courage to his fellow veterans through his appearance in The Best Years of Our Lives. He ended up having to hoc them years later just to survive another day to get drunk. I guess those weren’t the best years of his life after all, and they sum up what I really, really detest about those statues. They reflect the values of the most dim-witted idiocrats of our society, before their was even the phrase, “politically correct.”
Of all the movies on the slate for anything this year, the only one that I’ve seen is Avatar – a less than veiled attacked at the industrial-military complex that runs America, and the world. No more governments, just corporations run by greedy, heartless pigs. I’m sure Mr. Cameron will garner at least one or two awards. Precious, which I’ve been dying to see, will undoubtably garner a number of awards, including Best Actress. Let’s all watch Gabourey Sidibe earn her moment in the spotlight and then sink into obscurity. Those of us who are alive in ten to twenty or thirty years can bid are her statue on eBay, or its equivalent.

Ruining everything, including traffic

As I listen to the helicopters overhead, protecting us all from terrorist threats, I peek out my window to see an LAPD officer guarding my corning, which is a block and a half from Hollywood and Highland, and another 100 feet from the Kodak Theater. As you can see, they’ve installed quite an intimidating complex to keep any bomb-laden turbans and all fans at bay. The really important people, the superstars and moguls must be kept safe from harm so they can crank out more crap for next year!

Trample the Idol!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

2 responses »

  1. I did see The Blind Side and I’ve always liked Sandra Bullock I did not bother to watch the show . It just gets more and more bizzaire and too unintertaining. The plastic wrapped statue kind of says it all. Can you put the pictures on u-tube? I think it is a striking commentary on our “values” as a society.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

