RSS Feed

Anti-war Protest

Seven years after the illegal invasion of Iraq

The protest began with a haunting performance piece at the corner of Hollywood Blvd and Las Palmas Blvd. (If you listen closely at the beginning, you can hear my fan club cheering me on.) I don’t usually like performance art, so for this piece to pierce my cynical heart, it had to be saying something. Some of what they said seemed obvious to me, such as the woman who read the scap of newspaper and shrieked occasionally, oblivious of everything around her. Whether it’s from Fox or from a reliable outlet, people read about the war, shrug, and go on with their day.

Their voices were silent

Depsite the catcalls from the people on the sidelines, these artists gave a magnificant performance about the horrors of the war. I thought the Baroque wig was a nice touch, because the French Revolution was caused by Louis XVI’s involvement in the American Revolution. His reasons were not altruistic by any means. He just wanted to give King George III of Engand a bloody nose. Both countries were locked in a rivalry that was similar to the post-Cold war rivalry between Soviet Russia and the United States. France was left bankrupted and after a couple of famines, the people choped off Louis’s head, along with his wife, Marie Antoinette’s. The United States supposedly won the Cold War, but look around. Just spin that globe for a second. Did you notice that Russia is still a dictatorship, dressed up in an ill-fitting suit? A billion plus Chinese live under the heal of a criminal government as well. Unfortunately most American’s have no idea that France helped the American Revolution accomplish its goal of freedom from Britain. At times like this, I still wish we were ruled by Her Majesty’s government. Yes, America is an empire that’s at the end of its rope and when we fall into second rate status, what then?

Here’s another video of the march. It’s brief so it shouldn’t hurt you too much to watch.

Here are some photographs that I hope give you an idea of the scope and intensity of the march.

The Iraqi flag

A powerful message

Don't let this happen to you

Conspiracy wackos

Another sign of decline is the burgeoning number of conspiracy enthusiasts. Isn’t the truth awful enough? Why embellish it with bullshit? I have two theories : some people who populate America now come from countries where gossip and rumor are the mainstay of public discourse; also, our own government could be spreading these ridiculous stories in order to make the opposition look crazy. I don’t want to march under this banner. Do you? Or do you believe that our own government perpetrated this crime and was able to keep it a secret? I’ll tell you something. Leaks to the press are mother’s milk in Washington, D.C. Nobody can keep a secret. It takes two people to keep a secret, and one of them is dead. This kind of creepy rumor-mongering is an excellent example of a nation in decline. But enough of this doom-and-gloomery. Just because this is the anniversary of the war that lead our country down the road of perdition; let’s end this post with a smile.

Solidarity forever!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Hollyblog- 2010 in review « THE HOLLYBLOG

  2. There are always people who try to abuse a courtesy. I invite people to leave a url in order to give attention to their blogs. But when their blogs are merely a site to make money, I will not give you free ad space. Also, I don’t agree with your techniques. You pose as a lefty, when you’re really shooting from the right.

    Reply
  3. Obama has done nothing to end the war:(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

