RSS Feed

If I should die

Posted on

Am I in heaven?

PHOTO ESSAY – THE COUCH FARMS OF HOLLYWOOD

Many of the homeless find succor on the couches that litter the sidewalks of Hollywood. Below is a look. Where do these couches come from? Some believe that they sprout from the very sidewalks themselves in a process known as “snob-mediated foot traffic.” Others believe that they fall from the skies from heaven, as an answer from God to the prayers of these unfortunates. A third theory is that people, upon eviction, or conviction, leave them behind in disgust. Too poor to retrieve the battered upholstery of their lives, as it were, they just let nature take its course.

A fine example of couch plantin'

How much would you pay?

Sleep tight ye prince of ...

These three represent just a few of my collection. In order to keep this a G-rated sight, I won’t force you to to look at any more. They are indeed not very hard to find, a disgrace to any society that claims supremacy in weath and power. I find them disturbing, but I grew up in france where the homeless knew they’re place and were smart enough to STAY PUT!

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

2 responses »

  1. It’s so true. But you can never have too much money and bad luck is contagious.

    Reply
  2. Where are the ever visible celebrities when their neighbors need help? Any one of them could help dozens of these folks with a leg up and not miss the money.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

