RSS Feed

Age Inappropriate to the Max!

Sweet bird of youth…

We have a character here in Hollywood who loves to parade up and down the streets in mesh shirts and Daisy Duke cutoffs. If I were to venture a guess, I’d say he is seventy-five years old, if not a day. Now I know that there is a sub-culture that likes wrinkled, sun-damaged skin, so this post will probably not disturb them in the least. But if you are sensitive, you may want to look elsewhere, or you may be like me and rubberneck to see: I’m talking about the ugly old man who dresses inappropriately.

photograph by Russell Smith, image altered to protect privacy

But wait, there’s more. I think he shadowed me over to the Hollywood and Highland complex so I could take a picture of him with his friend with the terrible toupé. It figures he’d be chums with another person who suffers from what I believe is a subtype of somatophorm disorder called Body dysmorphic disorder. Normally these people think that they are ugly, rely on heavily on plastic surgery to correct their supposed disfigurements and are disappointed when the surgeries do not result in a change in their self-image. Remember that these people are delusional. Now the gentleman above also seems to be delusional, but in the opposite way. He seems to think that he is extremely attractive and desirable. The great actress Edith Massey played someone with the exact same personality type in the movie Female Trouble, directed by John Waters, staring Devine.

Birds of a feather, photograph by Russell Smith, image altered to protect privacy

Let’s take a look at the late great Edith Massey, so you can get an idea of what I’m talking about.

Edith Massey in all her glory, RIP

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

3 responses »

  1. Whether or not you like his fresh summer stylings, the guy is in really excellent shape! The toupe, however, is very helmutty.

    Reply
  2. At least he’s not wearing Spandex bike shorts. Here on the East Coast we have a significant number of obese cyclists and joggers who want to how off every bulge, fold, and ripple.

    What do these people see when they look in the mirror?

    Reply
    • That’s why I think that they suffer from some sort of dysmorphic syndrome, where they see something completely different in the mirror than what people see on the street. Something like what people with anorexia suffer from. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

