RSS Feed

I told you all that the remake stank

Most remakes stink and True Grit, a Coen Brothers disaster, was no exception. Even the greasy, cheesy Oscars gave it a comprehensive thumbs down. All Coen Brothers movies get nominated f0r something, now that they are considered mainstream. They were able to wriggle out of the murky waters of “Independence”  after the glorious victory of Fargo. The Brothers Coen achieved this victory a long time ago in terms of popular culture; that is, fifteen years. To paraphrase Pop Icon David Bowie, “Five years, that’s all you’ve got!” from the ground breaking recording, “Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars.” That means that Bros. Coen began to their slide to obscurity at the veritable turn of the century. They’ve made some crazy good movies since then, A Serious Man being a recent example. It got nominated for best picture when it came out, but nobody really thought it would win, and it didn’t. I love Coen Bros. movies, but that wasn’t one I saw at the overpriced movie theater.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is also an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Natasha, Maxwell, Tigger and Nigel.

Leave a Reply

