RSS Feed

Chatting with Superheros

The other day, I passed Batman on my street. He was on his way to work. I was feeling pretty grim. Usually when I see the H&H characters, I greet them merrily. Not this time. I crossed the street as he approached, and I didn’t give him the “Hello,” that he deserved from a fellow Hollywoodlian.

I looked back at Batman and he was hunched over slightly, giving that famous dejected posture. It was then that I cursed myself for not having my camera! So I was really lucky this time to have my camera and a little tip money in order to talk to these two characters. The characters that work at Hollywood and Highland complex (where the subway stop is) help make Hollywood a great place to come and visit. Some of them are really outlandish, and others are recognizable Hollywood and Comic personae.

As a boy, Batman and Spiderman were my favorite Superheros. Spidey had that hip, swinging thing going on, “Wherever there’s a hang up! You’ll find the Spiderman!” Of course, Batman exuded that brooding, self-doubt that I fed on threw childhood and adolesence. These two fellows kindly consented to me videotaping them as they walked away. Feel the vibe.

About Russell Smith

I was born at the American Hospital in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France. I find inspiration in the lives of so many people from Joan of Arc to Oscar Wilde. While my primary avocation is photography, I also enjoy philosophy, theology and most of all, history. My beloved wife, Robin Anne Smith, who passed away in 2013 is an inspiration to me. My beloved partner, Dana is also a great support and inspiration to me. I'd be remiss if I did not mention my cats: Maxwell, Nigel, Pirouette and GarGar.

Leave a comment